Urbanhype101

… just about everything :)

Reviews: HUNTRESS

 

MC thriller/romance

BOOK 2  of the OUTLAW series

Smashwords ebooks

11952790_10153055082645814_4914859226312843756_o - Copy

Scroll down for the latest reviews.

*****   Cindy November 2011

First book I have read from Karina Kantas will not be the last .
received book yesterday finished this morning. Sofi changes her whole life style as a Journalist in order to get revenge for the murder of her uncle and Death of her Brother at the hands of the Wolves motorcycle gang, to get to their Leader who was responsible for uncles Death but in doing so falls in love with His son.
most differently a page turner.
leaves you wondering if they get away or spend their life looking over their shoulder. I will be looking for next book.

***** Melinda November 2011

As always, Karina’s writing is engaging and absorbing. From plot to action to characterization, her books are page-turners. HUNTRESS is no exception, with a troubled, vengeful protagonist facing the real life consequences of her actions; counterpointed by the believable, strong-willed object of her desires when she realizes what her quest for revenge might cost her. Recommended for those who like a rough and tumble world of romance and retribution.

***** Tinkerbell65 January 2011

if you like biker fiction, you will love this book. it may not be a long read, but it will keep you on the edge of your seat right to the end. fabulous reading!

***** Gypsylowryder March  2012

if you like the biker world this is a must read. great characters,graphic but not too graphic; just enough to give you the feel and atmosphere. quick paced and i loved the ending..i’ll be expected more of the 2 main characters..can’t wait.

**** Carolyn June 2012

A gritty story of revenge which certainly is not for the faint-hearted.
A good read once i started i couldn’t put it down.

 

***** Mrs M.L.Poynter August  2013

This is a follow on from in times of violence; it is about the daughter of the leader’s gang Tyrants and her revenge. This book is very more in death to outlaw bikers’ ways and is shocking in places but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and did not want to put the book down. You felt you were a part of her path; I was a little disappointed with the ending as you don’t see what happens to mud. Maybe another ending would be she gets the Wolves to turn against mud and they kill him, as I feel she is very bright and could have pulled that off very well. There is some very in death sexual bits in it witch may be a bit shocking to some so be warned. i feel it is a very good follow on book and it was nice to see how the Tyrants leaders survived later in life. Can’t wait to read another of this author’s books question is which one next hummmm

***** MrCharity September 2013

I’ve just read “Huntress” by Karina Kantas and what a ride!! Bikers won’t be the only ones who enjoy this book.
I just love this bit because its true of so many middle aged people. The young generation don’t realise that their Mums and Dads were also young once. GET THIS BOOK ITS A GREAT READ…

*****Adri October 8th 2015

Where to begin with this book??
I have not read any of the other books by Karina Kantas, but as it happens, I didn’t have to. The name of this book intrigued me, considering the cover, which clearly identifies it as ‘Biker Chick-lit’ [for me anyway] I am delighted that I finally read it!
To begin with, I won’t rehash the story, you can read that yourself, but be prepared for the write-up to be both accurate, but lacking! The story is FULL, and I MEAN IT, of feelz.
I loved the agonising emotions of heat, love, revenge, and doubt… Karina did a superb job in creating the feel for the environment but also the generous portions of twists.
I got MAD, I tell you, at the lead male and his stupid behaviour, but soon he crawled into my heart for reasons you will just have to find out!
I got ANNOYED at the lead female for her part in being the silliest woman I’ve come across in ages – but couldn’t help swoon along with her!
The book is spicy, racy [and that includes the bike scenes!] which leaves you wanting more of the same.
This book, while it is a MC Thriller, is also a romance that deals with the pitfalls of emotional clashes between loyalty for family, and loyalty to love.
It is fast paced [or maybe I just read it really fast because I loved it!] and the characters are developed with a healthy dollop of human nature.
If you are looking for a thrilling read, that includes the world of sordid affairs, sexy love and superb creativity – then I would STRONGLY suggest you pick this one up.
Thank you Karina for this wonderful read. Your clean, crisp and to the point style of writing is refreshing, and for someone as pedantic about reading material as I am, I couldn’t ask for better!

 

 **** DM CAIN June 10th 2016

 

I have to say that this isn’t my usual type of thing so I was slightly sceptical about reading it. However, I was gripped from start to finish! This is a thrilling tale of life in a violent criminal motorcycle gang and the book pulled no punches about the types of things that happen in that world (literally!) Sofi was one tough cookie and I do love a strong female protagonist. Her determination to get revenge for her family’s difficult history was well-written, although at times she did do things that made my mind boggle! There were a few things that happened in the book that seemed unrealistic to me, but it didn’t impair my enjoyment of the story at all and I can say I thoroughly enjoyed it.

***** Never too many books November 28th

Do you ever wonder who your parents were before they had you?
Sofi visits old family friends and finds out her parents led a life she never knew about. The secrets her parents kept from her and her brother run deep and also explain her brother’s sudden suicide.
She is determined to make the ones responsibly for causing her family so much grief pay. But revenge is never easy.
Mrs. Kantas does a wonderful job of showing us the ins and outs of being in a motor cycle club. She also shows us that there is more to the people who wear the jackets and that romance can bloom in the most amazing places.
This story was full of twists and turns as well as suspense. I really enjoyed this story. It had action, adventure, romance, and violence. Everything you would expect from a good MC story. I recommend this story to anyone looking for a good MC book.

**** Jenna November 30th

I started off optimistic when I began Huntress by Karina Kantas but found myself a little confused in the first few pages. Huntress isn’t a slow story, in fact, it moves at a pretty fast pace; it doesn’t lag or stray, as I’ve seen frequently in books by indie authors. Because of this fast pace there isn’t an adjustment period, which is where my confusion came from. There wasn’t a lot of time, as the reader, to adjust to what is happening. Once I got past the first few pages, things began to become more clear and I began to fall in love with the story that was unfolding before me. As with the majority of indie books, there was some grammatical issues but to me, it didn’t detract from the storyline.

Sofi is a complex girl who’s completely relatable. She has been through horrendous experiences (and continues to do so) all while overcoming them and becoming a stronger woman because of it. I found myself rooting for her and cheering her on while she did such badass things that I truly don’t think I’d ever have the balls to do. Sofi is written perfectly by Karina and I think her story is one that any independent woman can read and learn from.

Buzz. Well, he’s a difficult one. I wanted to hate him from the start, I truly did. But I couldn’t. Although he had his moments where I wanted to jump into the book and punch him straight in his all-too-handsome face, I still began to see the beauty in him. Buzz is a wonderful love interest who despite all his protesting and hidden insecurity, proves that his love for Sofi is stronger than the life that he was born into. His protective nature and his surprisingly sweet side, had my heart beating faster and slower at the same time. Buzz is the kind of man that you think of when you picture a book boyfriend. I honestly believe that if Buzz was written any other way, Huntress would not be as great as it is.

Overall, Huntress was a surprising yet wonderful read. I applaud Karina Kantas in tackling many intense and controversial topics with complete ease AND still writing an epic romance that leaves you wanting more.

 

***** Rowanne December 2016

Ok it took my way longer than it should have done to read this book, but man am I glad I finally did! It kicks off straight away with the first couple of paragraphs pulling you in and you’ll want to carry on reading.
By the end of the first chapter we’ve gotten background on the MC and her family and understanding what’s driving her. We’ve got drugs, betrayal and violence all in the first few pages with the promise of more to come.
The story has a good pace to it, we don’t just skip from one month to the next with no knowledge of what’s happened, we get great scenes which tells us what’s happened in just enough a detail that doesn’t leave us begging for more and doesn’t drag – and moves the story on a great pace.
One of the things I loved is that when we start seeing a relationship being built, we see it being built – there’s lust, there’s passion, there’s “dates”. It’s not just straight into an unrealistic “I love you” kind of relationship that’s often seen in books.
I’m not an expert of the nature of bikers and bikers clubs, but I do know a few people in them, and this story seems to have them spot on for the clubs that don’t want to move on with the times, that are still stuck in the stone age when it comes to how they treat women, male superiority, living up to biker image and name, and the violence level is bang on.
Although I loved the story, I had one bug bear. The MC began to annoy me. She was willing to just let a man walk all over her, sleep with other men and treat her like shit. Some of the other things she lets him get away with were beyond disgusting – I know it was all for revenge, but I’d have like to have seen a bit more spirit in her – and then when the dad gets involved? *shuddering* I’d have liked to take the knife to! It’s so well written though that you can overlook the annoyance and just hope that she gets back to being a strong willed woman.
Seeing a different side to Buzz and his feelings about being a Wolf was an unexpected surprise, but a good one. It kept me hooked and wanting to read more to see what would happen and where the story line would go.
Given the choice between uncovering corruption, stopping murder, sending rapists to jail or staying with someone you love and in a family – seems like it would be an easy decision – but its plain to see through the writing of this story that it’s not as easy as we would like to think. And the story gets even more explosive than I thought was possible. Every word drawing you in, keeping you hooked, wanting to know what happens next with that feeling of anxiety in your chest that it’s all going to go wrong any second.
And then it ends and I want more! I want to read the next part in the story and find out what happens.
January 2017 ****
The thing that comes across most is that the author certainly knows her subject matter and this meant the book felt very credible. There were times when I loved the kick-ass nature of the main characters, and times when I hated them and their behaviour…that said, I was invested in the story and wanted to get to the conclusion. On the whole, I enjoyed this book, however, there were instances when the subject matter made me uncomfortable.
April 2017 *****

A very awesome book cover, great font & writing style. Wow, a very well written gang thriller book. It was very easy for me to read/follow from start/finish & never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a great set of unique characters to keep track of. This could also make another great gang thriller movie, or better yet a mini TV series. A very easy rating of 5 stars.

 

May 2017 *****

Huntress follows In Times of Violence and it makes you wonder if Karina Kantas has not lived this life. The story is a continuation of MC gangs as someone is out for revenge. The story will grab you right at the first page and you will not be able to put it down until you are finished. The MC gang scenes seem all too real and it has you sitting on the edge of your seat. Your adrenaline is going from beginning to end. Don’t miss this book from The Outlaw Series. I can’t wait to read the next one Lawless Justice. I’m sure it will be just as exciting. Ms. Kantas kudos for the true to life MC stories.

Save

%d bloggers like this: